Terms and conditions of the law firm iustica.BE

  •      1. Scope​
 
Unless otherwise agreed in writing, the present terms and conditions apply to the relationship between iustica.BE and its clients.
 
  •      2. Fees and costs
 
The services of iustica.BE will be invoiced at an hourly rate, ranging from 100.00 € to 300.00 € depending on the seniority and expertise of the handling lawyer.
 
Depending on the difficulty of the case, the interests at stake, the urgency and the result obtained, the hourly rate may be multiplied by a coefficient agreed upon with the client.

Any other method for determining fees (fixed amount, hourly rate in combination with success fee, …) must be agreed upon in writing.

Administrative and out of pocket expenses will be invoiced as follows:
 
  • Letter, fax, e-mail, incoming and outgoing (per document):    10.00 €
  • Word processing (per page):    5.00 €
  • Copies (per page):    0.50 €
  • Telephone (local, outgoing, per 15 minutes):    1.00 €
  • Telephone (international, outgoing, per 15 minutes):    10.00 €
  • Consultation legal database (per consultation):    10.00 €
  • Car expenses (per km – 0.62 miles):    0.50 €
 
All other expenses (legal expenses, bailiff, translations, other travelling expenses, downloading …) will be invoiced at cost price.
 
Lawyer fees and expenses are subject to VAT.
 
iustica.BE issues invoices (called “statements of fees and costs”) at regular intervals, and may invoice advance payments for services yet to be accomplished.
 
Subject to prior notice to the client, iustica.BE will subtract invoiced fees and costs from sums recovered on behalf of the client.
 
  •      ​3. Legal costs
 
Depending on the circumstances, certain costs, indemnities and taxes may be due at different stages of a legal procedure.
 
Upon the filing of a legal procedure, filing costs will be due, depending on the Court before which proceedings are filed, the nature of the case and the manner in which the claim was filed.
 
In the case of a civil or commercial procedure, the judicial code provides that the losing party must pay a procedural indemnity to the winning party. The amount of the procedural indemnity depends on the amount of the litigation and is a fixed rate determined by royal decree.
 
In criminal matters, a procedural indemnity can only be due between the plaintiff and the accused.
 
No procedural indemnity is due for procedures before an administrative jurisdiction.
 
The losing defendant will also need to pay the cost for issuing the summons and all other legal costs advanced by the claimant. 
 
At the end of the legal procedure, if a ruling has been rendered, a registration tax will be due by the losing party, at the current rate of 3% of the amount that the losing party is sentenced to pay. It is an indirect tax collected by the state upon registration of a deed or a written document in the register held at the ministry of finance.
 
The registration tax is due when the ruling carries a sentence and when the total amount of all sentences against any one party exceeds 12.500,00 €.
 
The winning party may be held to the payment of the registration tax due by the losing party if the latter is unable to do so, and this up to half of the amount actually received by the winning party.
 
The payment of the registration tax for the registration of a ruling takes priority over the payment of the amount due to the winning party according to the same ruling. This means that the losing party will have to pay the registration tax before paying his debt to the winning party.
 
  •      4. Duty of confidentiality and handling of the case
 
Within iustica.BE the case will be handled by one or more lawyers.
 
The consulted lawyer may be substituted, for (part of) the tasks to be accomplished, by another lawyer from iustica.BE, by a member of one of the legal networks of which iustica.BE is a member, or by any qualified lawyer.
 
iustica.BE will assign to professionals of its choice all tasks not to be accomplished by a lawyer (notary, bailiff, expert, company auditor, accountant, translator etc.).
 
All lawyers are bound by the ethical duty of confidentiality. The staff of iustica.BE is also contractually bound by a duty of confidentiality.
 
All document exchanged between lawyers are, in principle, confidential. As the case may be, the client undertakes to respect this confidentiality and not to use in any way the confidential documents that were transmitted to him.
 
The client agrees that all information and documentation disclosed to iustica.BE during the handling of a case may be stored by iustica.BE, even after the period has ended during which this information must be filed mandatorily.
 
  •      5. Professional rules and conflict management
 
The profession of lawyer is subject to professional and ethical rules issued by the bar association of the lawyer’s place of practice.
 
The lawyers working with iustica.BE are member of the Francophone or the Flemish section of the Brussels Bar Association (see tab “team” on iustica.BE’s website).
 
It is the local bar association that issues the professional and ethical rules to which the lawyer will be subject.
 
The rules of the Francophone section of the Brussels Bar Association are available in French on the website www.avocats.be. The rules of the Flemish section of the Brussels Bar Association are available and in Dutch on the website www.advocaat.be.
 
In case of a problem with a lawyer, member of the Francophone section of the Brussels Bar Association, the client may contact the office of the president of this Bar Association (the “permanence du bâtonnier”) by arranging an appointment with the secretariat: Palais de Justice, Place Poelaert- B-1000 Brussels (tel : +32 2 508 66 59). Further information may be found on the website of the francophone section of the Brussels Bar Association (www.barreaudebruxelles.info).
 
In case of a problem with a lawyer, member of the Flemish section of the Brussels Bar Association, the client may contact the president of this Bar Association to report the issue. Correspondence may be addressed to “Stafhouder van de balie Brussel, Gerechtsgebouw-Poelaertplein, B-1000 BRUSSELS (tel : +32 2 508 67 62, e-mail orde@baliebrussel.be). Further information may be found (in Flemish) on the website of the Flemish section of the Brussels Bar Association: www.advocaat.be.
 
However, effective client-lawyer communication being essential to conflict resolution, the client is invited to report to the lawyer any issues he may have with the services rendered before initiating proceedings before the Bar Association.
 
  •      6. Obligation to disclose - deadlines
 
The client undertakes to disclose to the lawyer - on his own initiative or at the lawyer’s request - all required and useful information and documentation.
 
The client is liable for all damages or inconveniences that may result from a late, incorrect or incomplete disclosure of information or documents.
 
In this respect, the client expressly discharges the handling lawyer and iustica.BE from any liability.
 
If the client has or should have knowledge of a deadline or an important date, he is under the obligation to inform the lawyer handling the case immediately and to disclose all documents and all information in this respect.
 
The lawyer handling the case verifies that all legal deadlines are respected.
 
If a client wishes for a case to be handled within a certain period, this should be expressly agreed upon.
 
The client can terminate the mandate of the lawyer at any time. The Lawyer will endeavour to terminate his intervention and to issue a final statement of fees and costs as soon as possible after the unequivocal instruction from the client terminating the mandate of the lawyer.
 
  •      7. Limitation of liability
 
Lawyers of iustica.BE that are member of the Francophone section of the Brussels Bar Association have taken out professional liability insurance with the insurance company ETHIAS at B-4000 Liège. Their liability is limited to a maximum of EUR 1.250.000,00 per claim with geographic coverage throughout the world except for the USA and CANADA.
 
Lawyers of iustica.BE that are member of the Flemish section of the Brussels Bar Association have taken out professional liability insurance with the insurance company “Amlin” at B-1210 Brussels. Their liability is limited to a maximum of EUR 1.250.000,00 per claim with geographic coverage throughout the world except for the USA and CANADA.
 
  •      8. Payment terms and conditions
 
iustica.BE’s statements of fees and costs are due to be paid within 30 days as from their date.
 
In case of a late payment, interest at the applicable statutory rate will be due without prior reminder or notice.
 
In case of late payment, a fixed indemnity equal to 10% of the invoiced amount will be due, with a minimum of 500.00 €, without prejudice to any indemnity for legal expenses which may be attributed in case of legal proceedings. 
 
In case of late payment, iustica.BE reserves the right to suspend its services.
 
The client will be liable for any damages that may result from such suspension.
 
  •      9. Jurisdiction – applicable law
 
In case of a dispute between iustica.BE and the client, the Brussels courts will have exclusive jurisdiction. iustica.BE reserves the right to bring the client before the courts of his place of residence.
 
Only Belgian law will apply, including the professional ethics code to which the lawyers of iustica.BE are subject.
 
  •      10. Specific consumer information
 
When iustica.BE is mandated by a consumer (according to art. I.1, 2° Belgian Economic Code, "a natural person acting for purposes outside his trade or profession") by means of a distance contract or a contract concluded away from the premises of iustica.BE’s offices, the client is granted a right of withdrawal during 14 days as from the day of conclusion of the contract with the lawyer. If the consumer wishes iustica.BE to initiate its mission before this term of 14 days is terminated, he must explicitly instruct iustica.BE to do so.
 
People with limited financial resources may resort to the system of legal aid, (entirely or partially) assisting them to meet the cost of legal representation or proceedings. Further information on the conditions for access to legal aid and the designation of a pro bono lawyer, can be found on the website of the “Bureau d’aide juridique” as well as on the contact list of the different bureaus in Belgium: www.aidejuridiquebruxelles.be, www.avocats.be, www.baliebrussel.be)

Conditions générales du cabinet d’avocats iustica.BE

  •      1. Champ d’application
 
A défaut d’une convention contraire expresse et écrite, les présentes conditions générales régissent la relation entre iustica.BE et le client.
 
  •      2. Honoraires et frais
 
Les prestations de iustica.BE seront facturées sur la base d’un tarif horaire de 100.00 € à 300.00 € selon l’ancienneté et la spécialisation de l’avocat traitant.

Selon le degré de difficulté, l’enjeu, l’urgence et le résultat du dossier, le tarif horaire peut être multiplié par un coefficient convenu avec le client.


Toute autre méthode de fixation des honoraires (forfait, taux horaire avec success fee, …) doit être convenue par écrit.

Les frais et débours sont facturés séparément et comme suit: 
 
  • Courrier, fax, e-mail entrant ou sortant (par document):    10.00 €
  • traitement de texte (par page):    5.00 €
  • copies (par page):    0.50 €
  • téléphone sortant (national, par 15 minutes):    1.00 €
  • téléphone sortant (international, par 15 minutes):    10.00 €
  • Consultation de bases de données en ligne (par consultation payante):    10.00 €
  • Déplacements en voiture (par km):    0.50 €
 
Les autres débours (frais de justice, huissier, traduction, autres transports, frais de téléchargement …) sont facturés au prix coûtant.

Les frais et honoraires des avocats sont soumis à la TVA.

iustica.BE
établit des états de frais et honoraires à intervalles réguliers, et peut demander des provisions pour les prestations à accomplir.

À condition d’en informer le client au préalable, iustica.BE
déduira les frais et honoraires facturés des montants reçus pour son compte.
 
  •      3. Dépens et frais de justice
 
Selon les circonstances, le client pourra être redevable de certains frais particuliers dus aux différents stades de la procédure judiciaire.
 
Lors du commencement de la procédure, le client sera redevable des droits de mise au rôle qui varient selon la juridiction saisie du litige, de la nature dudit litige ainsi que de son mode d’introduction.
 
Dans le cas d’une procédure civile ou commerciale, le Code judiciaire prévoit à charge de la partie qui succombe une indemnité de procédure en faveur de la partie qui obtient gain de cause. Le montant de cette indemnité dépend du montant du litige et est fixé forfaitairement par arrêté royal.
 
En matière pénale, une indemnité de procédure ne sera due que dans les rapports entre la personne poursuivie et la partie civile.
 
Aucune indemnité de procédure n’est due pour les procédures devant les juridictions administratives.
 
Lorsque la partie défenderesse succombe, elle sera également redevable des frais de citation et des autres frais de justice avancés par la partie demanderesse.
 
Lors de la clôture de la procédure et, dans l’hypothèse où une décision judiciaire est rendue, des droits d’enregistrement à hauteur de 3 % de la valeur de la condamnation seront mis à charge de la partie succombante. Il s’agit d’un impôt indirect perçu par l’Etat lors de l’enregistrement d’un acte ou d’un écrit dans un registre au ministère de finances.
 
Ces droits d’enregistrement seront dus lorsque la décision judiciaire porte condamnation et que le montant cumulé des condamnations prononcées à charge d’une même personne dépasse 12.500,00 €.
 
La partie qui remporte le procès peut être tenue du paiement de ces droit d’enregistrement dus par la partie succombante, si cette dernière se trouve dans l’incapacité financière de s’acquitter du montant réclamé, et  jusqu’à un plafond correspondant à la moitié de la somme effectivement perçue par la partie triomphante.
 
Le paiement des droits d’enregistrement est une priorité par rapport au paiement de la dette reconnue à la partie qui l’emporte par la décision judiciaire à enregistrer. Cela signifie que la partie succombante devra tout d’abord s’acquitter des droits d’enregistrement avant de pouvoir entamer le paiement du montant dû à la partie qui l’emporte.
 
  •      4. Gestion du dossier et secret professionnel
 
Au sein de iustica.BE le dossier sera traité par un ou plusieurs avocats.
 
L’avocat consulté pourra se faire remplacer, pour tout ou partie des prestations à effectuer, par l’un des avocats de iustica.BE, par un membre des réseaux d’avocats auxquels iustica.BE est affilié, ou par tout autre personne portant le titre d’avocat.
 
iustica.BE fera appel aux professionnels de son choix pour toute activité ne relevant pas de la profession d’avocat (notaire, huissier de Justice, expert, reviseur d’entreprise, comptable, traducteur, etc.).
 
Les avocats sont soumis au secret professionnel. Le personnel de iustica.BE est tenu à une obligation de confidentialité.
 
Tout document échangé entre avocats est, en principe, confidentiel. Le cas échéant, le client s’engage à respecter ce caractère confidentiel et à ne pas utiliser de quelque façon que ce soit, des documents confidentiels qui lui auraient été transmis par iustica.BE.
 
Le client marque son accord à ce que l’information obtenue à l'occasion du traitement de son dossier pourra être conservée par iustica.BE, et ce même après la période légale d’archivage du dossier. 
 
  •      5. Règles professionnelles et gestion des conflits
 
La profession d’avocat est soumise à un certain nombre de règles professionnelles et déontologiques arrêtées par son organisation professionnelle selon l’établissement géographique de l’avocat.
 
Les avocats établis au sein de iustica.BE sont rattachés à l’ordre français ou à l’ordre néerlandais des avocats du barreau de Bruxelles (voir onglet team du site internet de iustica.BE).
 
C’est cette organisation professionnelle qui arrête les règles professionnelles et déontologiques qui s’imposent à l’avocat. Les règles de l’ordre français des avocats du barreau de Bruxelles sont consultables en français sur le site www.avocats.be. Les règles de l’ordre néerlandais des avocats du barreau de Bruxelles sont consultables en néerlandais sur le site www.advocaat.be.
 
Si le client rencontre des difficultés avec un avocat inscrit à l’ordre français des avocats du Barreau de Bruxelles, il peut se tourner vers la « permanence du bâtonnier » en prenant rendez-vous avec le secrétariat de l’ordre français des avocats du barreau de Bruxelles, Palais de justice, Place Poelaert – B-1000 Bruxelles (tél : +32 2 508 66 59). Pour de plus amples informations, le client est invité à consulter le site internet de l’ordre français des avocats du barreau de Bruxelles à l’adresse suivante : www.barreaudebruxelles.info.
 
Lorsque l’avocat est inscrit à l’ordre néerlandais des avocats du Barreau de Bruxelles, le client peut prendre contact avec le bâtonnier de l’ordre afin de lui exposer sa situation. La correspondance peut être adressés au « Stafhouder van de balie Brussel, Gerechtsgebouw-Poelaertplein, B-1000 BRUSSEL (tél : +32 2 508 67 62, e-mail orde@baliebrussel.be) ». Pour de plus amples informations le client est invité à consulter le site internet de l’ordre néerlandais des avocats du barreau de Bruxelles à l’adresse suivante : www.advocaat.be.
 
Une bonne communication entre avocat et client est cependant essentielle à la résolution d’un éventuel conflit. Le client est donc invité à faire part à son avocat de ses doutes sur les prestations de ce dernier avant d’entamer une procédure.
 
  •      6. Obligation d’information et délais
 
Le client s’engage - de sa propre initiative ou sur demande de l’avocat - à transmettre en temps utile à l’avocat traitant toute information et documentation utiles et nécessaires.
 
Le client est responsable d’éventuels dommages ou inconvénients qui résulteraient de la transmission tardive, fautive ou incomplète de ces informations ou documents.
 
A cet égard le client décharge expressément l’avocat traitant et iustica.BE de toute responsabilité.
 
Si le client a connaissance ou devait avoir connaissance d’un quelconque délai ou d’une date importante, il a l’obligation d’en informer immédiatement l’avocat traitant et de transmettre à ce dernier tout document et toute information à cet égard.
 
L’avocat traitant veille au respect de tous les délais légaux.
 
Si un client souhaite qu’un dossier soit géré endéans un délai déterminé, une convention expresse doit être conclue à cet égard.
 
Le client marque son accord sur la conservation par iustica.BE de l’information obtenue à l’occasion du traitement de son dossier et ce même après la période légale d’archivage du dossier.
 
Le client peut mettre fin à tout moment à la mission confiée à l’avocat. L’avocat tâchera de clôturer son intervention et à émettre un état final de frais et honoraires au plus vite après instruction claire du client mettant fin au mandat de l’avocat.
 
  •      7. Limitation de la responsabilité
 
Les avocats de iustica.BE inscrits à l’ordre français des avocats du Barreau de Bruxelles disposent d’une assurance responsabilité professionnelle auprès de la compagnie d’assurance ETHIAS à B-4000 Liège. Leur responsabilité est limitée à un maximum de 1'250'000.00 € par sinistre. La couverture s’étend géographiquement sur le monde entier à l’exception des Etats-Unis d’Amérique et du Canada.
 
Les avocats de iustica.BE inscrits à l’ordre néerlandais des avocats du Barreau de Bruxelles disposent d’une assurance responsabilité professionnelle auprès de la compagnie d’assurance AMLIN à B-1210 Bruxelles. Leur responsabilité est limitée à un maximum de 1'250'000.00 € par sinistre. La couverture s’étend géographiquement sur le monde entier à l’exception des Etats-Unis d’Amérique et du Canada.
 
  •      8. Délais de paiement
 
Les états de frais et honoraires de iustica.BE sont payables endéans les 30 jours à compter de la date d’émission de l’état de frais et honoraires.
 
En cas de retard de paiement, des intérêts de retard sont dus de plein droit au taux légal applicable et ce sans rappel ou mise en demeure préalable.
 
Tout retard de payement donnera lieu à une indemnité correspondant à 10 % du montant facturé avec un minimum de 500.00 €, et ce indépendamment d’une éventuelle indemnité de procédure qui serait attribuée dans le cadre d’une procédure judiciaire.
 
En cas de retard de paiement, iustica.BE se réserve le droit de suspendre ses prestations.
 
Le dommage qui en résulterait serait entièrement à charge du client.
 
  •      9. Tribunal compétent – droit applicable
 
En cas de litige entre iustica.BE et le client, les tribunaux de l’arrondissement de Bruxelles sont compétents. iustica.BE se réserve cependant le droit de citer le client devant le tribunal de son domicile.
 
Seul le droit matériel belge est applicable, en ce compris les règles déontologiques auxquelles sont soumis les avocats de iustica.BE.
 
  •      10. Dispositions spécifiques aux consommateurs
 
Lorsque iustica.BE est mandatée par un consommateur, à savoir, « toute personne physique qui agit à des fins qui n’entrent pas dans le cadre de son activité commerciale, industrielle, artisanale ou libérale » (art. I.1, 2° Code de droit économique), dans le cadre d’un contrat à distance ou d’un contrat conclu en dehors du cabinet de iustica.BE, le client bénéficie d’un droit de rétraction de 14 jours à partir du jour de la conclusion du contrat avec l’avocat. Si le client dans cette situation souhaite que iustica.BE entame sa mission avant l’expiration de ce délai de 14 jours, il lui sera demandé de renvoyer à iustica.BE une demande expresse d’intervention anticipée.
 
iustica.BE tient à informer ses clients qu’il est possible pour les personnes ayant de faibles ressources financières de faire appel à un avocat exerçant via le bureau d’aide juridique. L’aide juridique permet de bénéficier de la gratuité totale ou partielle des services d’un avocat. Pour plus d’informations sur les conditions d’accès à l’aide juridique et sur la désignation d’un avocat pro deo il est renvoyé au site internet du Bureau d’aide juridique et à la liste de contacts des différents bureaux de Belgique (www.aidejuridiquebruxelles.be, www.avocats.bewww.baliebrussel.be)